The Mechanics

The club was founded as Blackpool Metal Mechanics in 1947 before changing the name to Blackpool Mechanics.

Walter Jepson, after whom Jepson Way was named, was a founding member and long serving club secretary. The club started out playing at Stanley Park Arena, before moving to the present ground in 1949. 

The club started out in the Fylde District Football League, playing in Division Two. They won the Division Two title in the 1950–51 season and were promoted to Division One, where between 1953–54 and 1957–58 they were champions twice and runners-up three times in five consecutive seasons. They also won a number of local cup competitions, including the  Lancashire FA Amateur Shield in 1957–58.

In 1959 the club took the decision move up the leagues and joined the  West Lancashire League. In their first season, 1959–60, they were runners-up. In 1960–61 they were champions and also won the Lancashire FA Amateur Shield again. The following season they were again West Lancashire League champions.

In 1962 they joined the  Lancashire Combination, and were placed in Division Two. This division was disbanded in 1968, with the league becoming a single division.

The 1971-72 season saw a third-place finish. In the 1972–73 season they won the Lancashire Combination Bridge Shield and in 1974–75 finished as runners-up in the league, just one point behind champions Darwen.

In 1982 the Lancashire Combination merged with the Cheshire League to form the North West Counties Football League and the club were placed in Division Three, finishing sixth in 1982-83, their first season in the new League.

They were promoted as champions to Division Two in 1985-86. Then were briefly promoted to Division One in 1991-92 before being relegated back to Division Two the following season.

In May 2005 Lytham St. Annes FC, who had just won the West Lancashire League Division One title, merged into the Mechanics after resigning from the West Lancashire league.

In May 2008 the Mechanics merged with Squires Gate Junior FC, with the club renamed AFC Blackpool.

As First Division champions in 2010-11, the club were promoted to the Premier Division in what was quite possibly the clubs most successful season. A record breaking 28 wins, three draws and just three defeats out of 34 League games. They also reached the semi-finals of the First Division Cup and the League Cup. The Junior section also saw notable successes. The under-16's  did the League and Cup double, the under-10's and under-11's won their respective divisions whilst the under'14's won promotion.

After four seasons the club were relegated to the North West Counties League First Division at the end of the 2015-16, in which they finished bottom of the table.